I have returned! and Summer 2014 Anime Line-Up

anime-girl-with-sword_160898

 

Greetings one and all!

To say that it has been a while would be an understatement. Around a year without any new content, just what on earth was the author up to over all that time? Well I’ll answer, and I’ll keep it brief. To say that it was a busy time last year would be an understatement. I can safely say that as I write this, it is actually the first time I’ve really had time to get back into blogging again since my last update. A lot has happened since then too. I finished Attack on Titan, so the reaction posts are discontinued in favor of doing a full review in the near future. I finished my 100th anime; End of Evangelion. I watched a multitude of other shows which I would love to talk about, and if you compile all that with my real world responsibilities of college, my job, and various events, it’s been a rather busy time. However, now I can finally sit down and get back to work, and hopefully bring some new and exciting content to the table.

Without further ado, it’s that time of year again, time to discuss the new anime season for Summer 2014. I have to say, that this is the most exciting line-up that I have seen in some time…

Summer 2014 Anime- My thoughts, and what I plan to watch

Now of course, as with every anime season, I choose certain shows I wish to prioritize above others. However, this time around I put a little twist on things. The set up was as follows: I choose three anime which I absolutely want to watch, anime that are a must see for me this season. I allow myself to choose an extra film or OVA that I am determined to watch too. Then I choose three by random, and watch whatever ones I end up with (thankfully I can say that the outcome was rather promising). Before I reveal my picks though, let’s take a look at some of the ones which didn’t make the list.

Glasslip

Glasslip-610x795

 

“On the other side of the glass, you can see tomorrow.”

So, they say that if you can think it up, there’s an anime for it. Well, Glasslip is a perfect example. For I have to say that I’ve never come across an anime about glass making before. Our protagonist is Fukami Touko, who dreams of one day becoming a glass artisan. From the PV I can gather that there’s going to be plenty of emotion, shiny things, and fawn eyes. The animation is very crisp and clean, and all in all it looks like a relaxing show.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjHPAEnUiqw

Tokyo Ghoul

 

wp4_1280x1024

 

I’ve actually started reading the manga for this myself, and it’s thoroughly enjoyable. As you can probably tell, it’s rather twisted and dark, with plenty of blood and gore. An anime adaptation would be welcome, and I’m considering sneaking this one in alongside my other choices, as I’m expecting it to be a big hit this season. A story of ghouls devouring people in Tokyo. A perfect summer chiller.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4rFs9_yJ4A

Rail Wars!

rail-wars-anime-upcoming-seventhstyle-002-614x438

 

Something about not privatizing trains, a man hater, and an extremist group. Another refreshingly unique anime concept for this season. It looks to be rather interesting, but could go either way, so I’ll wait and see on this one. All I will say is, it looks like we’ll be riding the fanservice carriage- if you know what I mean 😉

PV:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lj4OLTZfg20

Akame Ga Kill!

akame-ga-kill-white-fox-anime-seventhstyle-001

 

So Kill La K- I’m sorry, I mean Akame Ga Kill! is the new bad-ass fantasy anime, about a boy who sets out to find money for his starving village and ends up being recruited as an assassin. It happens. Now there is a ‘Capitol’ involved, but it’s hard to say how much of a Hunger Games turn this will take. The designs look interesting, and it’s sure to be a big hit among the masses.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrd5UriGpq8

My Choices

There are of course many more anime which I haven’t covered here, but I have highlighted those which I find most intriguing. Now comes the point where I reveal what I’m definitely going to be watching this season:

Sailor Moon Crystal

smc11

 

I have waited and waited and waited for this, and finally, it has arrived. Sailor Moon Crystal, commemorating the 20th anniversary of one of the most iconic anime characters out there. I am a major Sailor Moon fan, and I cannot contain my excitement to finally see a new Sailor Moon anime. The art style is closer to that of the manga, and the animation looks crisp and beautiful. With the added plus of Momoiro Clover Z doing the opening and ending themes, it’s sure to be a great hit.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9Ft3viBgtQ

K: Missing Kings

648456

 

I loved K Project, and have been waiting diligently for a second series. Unfortunately…this isn’t it. Instead it’s a movie, but nonetheless I am excited, and I’m sure that much like the series, it will be a good watch. It seems to be an adaptation of the events that occurred before the anime, a prequel if you will. It may be similar to the K: Memories of Red manga if that is the case.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oyd0YwIPeuA

DRAMAtical Murder

DRAMAtical.Murder.full.1072677 (1)

 

All I can say is, yes. Yes. Yes please. I adored the visual novel (yes, every part of it 😉 ) and an anime adaptation is more than welcome. My only question is, how far are they planning to go when it comes to the yaoi? Will this be an anime with Free-like levels of fanservice?

The animation looks nice, perhaps not the most fluid but hopefully it will shine during the Rhyme sequences. All in all, I’m probably the most excited for this one.

 

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nJaL1GZZqA

Sword Art Online II

gun-gale-online-sinon-kirito-sword-art-online-2-hd-wallpaper-1920x1080-mikoyanx

 

When the first Sword Art Online came out, opinions were torn. There were people who loved it, and people who hated it, with very little middle ground. I was more the former, even though I could see it’s faults, I thoroughly enjoyed the series. The second series is set to be an adaptation of the GunGrave Online light novels, and apparently it’s a gender switch for Kirito. Whatever happens, even if they make another disappointing second half, I’m sure to enjoy it.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CKER1uSzV8

Shonen Hollywood- Holly Stage for 49

f23074fd4cbe4dc8994d37bd11f7bb01

 

Oh boy. I wonder what all the fangirls will be talking about this season?

It’s about a boy idol group, and is based on a light novel. That’s about all the information I’ve got, but provisionally, I’m gonna say the guy right at the end will end up being my favorite.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzBKlxiSYvA

(Also…what does holly have to do with anything?)

Bakumatsu Rock

Bakumatsu.Rock.full.1710500

 

No. No I did not choose this because the above image exists. It was actually one of my random picks, but it looks to be completely rad. I’m getting a cool as ice Space Dandy vibe from it, maybe a little Samurai Champloo. Ancient rock, or something.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cyJLONGDsjg

Ao Haru Ride

Ao.Haru.Ride.full.945231 (1)

 

A shoujo anime with an art style that reminds me of Kimi Ni Todoke, about a girl who wants to be boyish so people wont be so jealous of her (she’s perfect), and she meets a boy from her past, who has also taken on a new identity. Should be a sweet romance, probably not the most exciting of shows, but it’ll be something nice and relaxing to take the edge off all the action-oriented stuff I seem to be watching this season.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D3OfnY-5Uuc

To Conclude

There it is. Summer 2014 is a good season for fans of previous works, but hopefully the abundance of new adaptations will suffice for those who aren’t familiar with the likes of Sword Art Online or Sailor Moon. I personally am looking forward to this season even more than the Spring line-up, so here’s hoping it’ll be worth the anticipation.

~Over and out

About vanille

An avid fan of movies, anime, manga, video games, and Tim and Eric. Has an unhealthy obsession with The Karate Kid: Part III.

Posted on July 1, 2014, in Anime, Manga. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

